• 1907

    Arrival of CICM Priest in the Philippines.

  • 1928

    Saint Mary’s School was established.

  • 1967

    The CICM Congregation took over the management and ownership of the school from the Parish.

  • 1978

    50th founding anniversary of Saint Mary’s College (elementary)

  • 1984

    Dr. Leopoldo Felix G. Saquing was appointed as Grade School Principal, the first lay person to occupy the position.

  • 1994

    SMU celebrated its 50th founding anniversary.

  • 1995

    Saint Mary’s College was elevated to University Status with Rev. Fr. John Van Bauwel, CICM, as the First University President.

  • 1998

    Rev. Jessie M. Hechanova, CICM, was installed as SMU’s Second University President.

  • 1999

    SMU Elementary Central and Training Department were merged.

  • 2000

    SMU Grade School opened Nursery with 67 pupil enrollees.

  • 2003

    SMU celebrated its Diamond Jubilee.

  • 2005

    Rev. Manuel D. Valencia, CICM, was installed as the Third University President on August 27, 2005.

  • 2007

    1st CICM School Friendship Meet was held in SMU in November 19-21, 2007. Grade School pupils competed in sports, cultural, and academic events.

  • 2008

    SMU Grade School completed the Preschool Department: Nursery, Kindergarten, and Preparatory.

  • 2009

    Dr. Samuel R. Soliven was appointed principal after Dr. Leopoldo Felix Saquing retired. Dr. Macrino A. Raymundo, was appointed Assistant Principal.

  • 2010

    Dr. Macrino A. Raymundo was appointed as Preschool & Grade School principal.

  • 2013

    Dr. Ma. Cristeta M. Aduca was appointed as Officer-in-charge, Preschool and Grade School.

  • 2014

    Dr. Ma. Cristeta M. Aduca was appointed Principal, Pre-school and Grade School. SMU Grade School renamed the levels in the Pre-school Department as: Nursery, Junior Kindergarten, and Kindergarten to align them to the K to 12 Basic Education Program.